ADHD Open Space
ADHD Open Space Podcast
ADHD, Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria, and How It Stole My Joy for a Year
0:00
-35:01

ADHD, Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria, and How It Stole My Joy for a Year

And how I’m getting it back. Today.

RSD is probably the least favorite “superpower” of ADHD.

“…I felt numb.

I felt like there was nothing worth doing or anything.

It all seemed very, very pointless.

Um, and I was lucky that I had access to healthcare and I believe in, you know, the power of therapy.

And I got to talk to a VA therapist and go through a program.

And one of the parts of the program was he said, look, what did you do when you were a kid that you enjoyed?

When you were, you know, what's the last time you remember doing something that was just for you, that you enjoyed for yourself, for itself, not because you were going to make money at it or get things like that?

And I said, well, I liked Dungeons and Dragons.”

I mention an article from Psychology Today in this episode. You can find it here.

0 Comments
ADHD Open Space
ADHD Open Space Podcast
The ADHD Open Space Podcast is for adult professionals living with ADHD and those who interact with them. We’ll talk about how it affects our work and those we care about.
As the “open space’ implies, there is room to explore more, so feel free to leave suggestions and comments for each episode!
The ADHD Open Space event will be January 20th, 2024 in Madison, WI. Registration opens December 1st at http://adhdopen.space!